Commissions · Family · Heritage · Inspirations · Life · Native American · OOAK dolls · Personal

Blue Loves Grandma Petra

 

blue_bird_of_paradise_by_massano

The Importance of Grandma Petra. (Petra translatation=Hard Rock)

Strong
Tough
Resilent
Caring
Cake!

Her love transcends. Caring for all that are near and dear is her number one duty. On call, on hand for all. How many cakes has she created? There is no joy in her life like making a cake for a celebration and creating a party. She has enormous love and graceful skills in large gatherings.

IMG_8563

I can only speak of my own life experience with her. She has been the guiding light in my childhood. It is safe to say without her & my grandfather -my brother and I would have been lost in the system. I don’t know how many other children she has raised. But my brother and I are definatley on that list. With her care and life lessons I have learned to also be resilent, honest, and hardworking. In most of what I tread in life, I think of her. Am I doing all that I can? Am I being lazy? “In her words, there is no such thing as being bored! Let me show you, what you can do….”

The abbey

Maybe this is going too deep and too new agey. But this is my safe space for words. But in my intuition and meditation, I feel like she has been in my previous lives. Perhaps in the last one we worked in an Abbey together. She has serious inclinations towards Nun habits. Dedication to serving others, minimalism and hard work. Delicate embrace and understanding of others. And she is just so darn cute and caring.

simi-valley-ca-landscape

My heart is healing since I was last able to see her. Finding out she was in the hospital, was shocking. But it shouldn’t be, right? For anyone who is 79 years old, you would expect as much. But for her it was. Well, because I have never seen her lying in bed. I do not recall her ever being in the hospital! And she is my mother in a way. I am so happy that I could spend her 80th birthday with her. She had just woken up 1 day before. Previous to that she was on life support. The physical therapist that was moving her body, asked her if she wanted one thing for her birthday what would it be. She replied, “To make sure everyone is happy.”

IMG_8660I had to jump on a plane and try to get by her side while this was happening. I would not be able to move on with my life, if I did not try and be there. Well, because I can’t really afford to make a trip I had to come up with a way to help fund my travel. And that is where the gofund me campaign came in.

HalloweenieGofundme

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grandma Petra has been a big supporter of my artwork. Since I was little drawing on everything, building things with her and learning to cook with her.

IMG_8584For her birthday in n 2013, I gifted her an American Indian Artpiece. There is nothing she loves more than spending time with family and sharing food.

Grandma Petra

Native Peace
Native Peace

This campaign is a way for people to commission me to make dolls. I have succeeded in traveling down there. With that money and my aunt giving the family a space to crash I was able to stay a few days. Everyday that I saw her she was getting better and better. The life support came off, she began recovering. In about a week she recovered as much to be moved to a rehabiliton recovery center. Which I think was really fast for what her body was going through. Now we take everyday into the next.

Thank you to everyone for all of your love and support. New Dollies coming up! If anyone would like me to make some for you, can can still select the options on the campaign.

PatchesGoFundMe

(Artwork will be available by September)

 

 

 

In closing I will say that I am so happy that I could be there for her recovery. She is still in need of a long rehabilitation, but we are no longer in the grey area. What would you do for someone that made a significant difference in your life? What wouldn’t you do?

Just for the heck of it and the love of my Grandma, here is an embarrassing picture of me with my brother Mark.

LittlemeandMark

IMG_8667

my signature

 

Leave a comment