Commissions · Exhibitions · How To · The Process

Wax Angel Candle Sculpture How to

MartinaMarkota

The idea for this project was initiated by Shien Lee to create the effect of a woman covered in candle dripping from shoulders, chest to stomach. With live candles burning on the shoulders. I had previously created something similar a few months back using shoulders pads and a wooden board for a back piece. But this particular job, it required no shoulder pads and candles as close as possible to the body.

So, how to create a completed wax dripping body image with no time for actual dripping? Pre-dripping can not be done, because wax will break. I did some research, and found the hot glue technique! Looooooove this method. I am completely inspired to do more and more wax dripping. Wink wink hot glue.

To create a supportive base, I used cotton rope and a large D ring. The shoulder, still needed a supportive base – I cut up a half moon of styrofoam, inserted rope into and dug out holes for candle security.

IMG_8400

 

IMG_8422

 

Next, it was time for the dripping. For this I found a flat glass base (which happened to be a scale. hehe.) Use the glass base with slick in olive oil beforehand, and lay down glue dripping one by one. This is time consuming, but well worth it. I usually listen to a podcast or meditate on what the next procedure is going to be.

Time to lay down the glue piece on a curved cylinder to create shoulder movement. (Glass Jars)

Next, I glued down the glue flaps onto the cotton rope pieces. From this , I like to take a step back and envision how it will wear on the model. What the movement might be, and what are the fire safety concerns. Basically every piece needs to be covered in candle wax to be safe.

IMG_8426

Because I am obsessed with Sugarpill’s “Ice Angel” eyeshadow I brush that overIMG_8420 the candle wax to create a blue luminesence. Of course, knowing that this visual art piece will be in a club atmosphere there is a high chance these details will not even be seen. But I cannot help myself, and did it anyway.

What ideas do you have for this? I have so many. I only hope for the time and venue to create more pieces like this. Perhaps on a grander scale, in a multiple colors? Who knows, anything can happen.

On our merry way with Johnny Madison with fog machine and candle art piece in tow trampling through the cemetery roads of our home facade…..into the chaos of midtown then into a jaw dropping venue  called the Diamond Horseshoe. It was so important to have Johnny Backstageon hand for this project. Johnny was in charge of the fog and checking the wax temperature settings during the event. Then passing me the cup of wax from under the table, so I could pour it on my lovely model Christine. What an adventure!

Backstage I met my model and candle wax playmate Christine Everett. It’s showtime! ….IMG_8504Jane Kratochavil

Venus 02

Jane Kratochavil 8
Jane K.
Mark Shelby 2Mark Shelby 3Mark Shelby 4Dark Venus Angel 001Dark Venus 003Dark Venus 002

Signing off,

my signature

Leave a comment